Checking in with My Summer Bucket List

At the beginning of the summer I published a summer bucket list. Now that we are nearing the end, I thought I’d review what I was able to complete and what I’m carrying over into the rest of the year. Really nothing like returning to do a goals list to make you realize that you could have spent your time more wisely and help you reevaluate what will be important goals for you to keep moving forward in the year.

Overall, I didn’t do so great with my list. There were some local events that we missed (and many others we attended that weren’t on the original bucket list.) And while I didn’t accomplish all of my personal goals, I also kept up with and learned more about others, such as developing a pretty solid daily yoga practice.

I’ve also spent a lot of time volunteering this summer, specifically with the Hunger Book Sale and at our local co-op. I haven’t always spent much time volunteering on a regular basis, so it’s been nice to contribute time to causes that I enjoy and help out with initiatives I care about – also not something that is reflected in the bucket list!

I’ll be putting together a goal list for fall and the rest of 2019 soon (can you believe we are almost to the final quarter of the year?), but here is what I was able to accomplish in Summer!

Milwaukee Things (2/5 complete)

  • Bastille Days √ We were able to walk over and enjoy this festival on it’s last day. It was much bigger than I anticipated! In addition to all the bars and food stalls, we were also able to see a cooking demo and part of a couple outdoor concerts.
  • Summerfest X
    • Did not get to this one. Shockingly, out of eleven days of bands, there were only two acts we wanted to see and they were happening at the same time. Maybe next year!
  • Sculpture Milwaukee
    • This is still going on through October, so I’m confident we will get to it before then.
  • Newaukee Night Market X
  • Have a drink at a rooftop bar

Wisconsin Things (1/3 complete)

  • Bookworm Gardens
    • Super magical! You can read about out trip here.
  • Elkhorn Flea Market
    • There is one more of these in late September, so I’m hoping to be able to visit that one.
  • Door County X
    • I’m looking forward to a weekend trip here next year.

Other Things (2

  • Finish crocheting a shirt

 

  • Get my tarot read X
    • Although I didn’t officially get my tarot read, I did do more research and practiced with my own deck.
  • Learn a new software program X
    • I had intended to work on a Coursera class for this. Hoping to incorporate that more into last few weeks of August.
  • Get belay certified X
    • We actually didn’t go climbing nearly as much as I was wanting to this summer. I hoping to go next week and maybe get some belay classes on the schedule.
  • Cook through a cookbook X
    • This seems like a good fall project!
  • Join a book club I found a once-a-month bookclub and was able to attend twice. We read A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza, and Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston.

How did you do with completing your summer goals? Tell me below in the comments!

Leave a comment